A very competitive spring in the Mountain Valley Athletic Conference for softball was evident among the 23 players  selected to the All-MVAC first team,

East Wilkes’ Lauren Rakes swept both the MVAC Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year honors. East Wilkes’ Derrick Hill earned Coach of the Year honors.

Fourteen Wilkes County players were named to the first team, headlined by five selections from MVAC regular season and tournament champion West Wilkes.

East Wilkes finished with four honorees while Wilkes Central and North Wilkes had three and two players, respectively.

The honorees, with Wilkes athletes in bold, are as follows:

Conference Champions – West Wilkes

Tournament Champions – West Wilkes

Player of the Year – Lauren Rakes – East Wilkes

Pitcher of the Year – Lauren Rakes – East Wilkes

Coach of the Year – Derrick Hill – East Wilkes

Tournament MVP – Lauren Anderson – West Wilkes


Kenzi Lyall – Alleghany                                            

Haley Rife – Alleghany                                           

Nyah Allen – Alleghany                                          

Mackenzie Russell – Alleghany                             

Cierra Burgess – Ashe County                              

Lauren Rakes – East Wilkes                                 

Lyric Ryan – East Wilkes                                       

Alexa Carter – East Wilkes                                   

Alexis Lester – East Wilkes                                   

Chloe Osborne – Elkin

Lanie Miles – North Wilkes                                 

Kaylin Blankenship – North Wilkes                   

Emma Greene – Starmount                               

Summer Fontana – Starmount                          

KG White – Starmount                                       

Lauren Anderson – West Wilkes

Carly Parsons – West Wilkes

Brianna Lewis – West Wilkes

Jamilyn Wilcox – West Wilkes

Tory Parsons – West Wilkes

Isabelle Curry – Wilkes Central

Christa Walsh – Wilkes Central

Karlie Anderson – Wilkes Central                                 

Honorable Mention

Abby Hawks – Alleghany                                       

Taylor Allen – Alleghany                                      

Abby Sullivan – Ashe County                                                                                                                             

Savannah Grogan – Ashe County                                      

Samantha Carter – East Wilkes                                               

Jenna Bullard – East Wilkes

Audrey Jennings – Elkin

Alison Wells – Elkin

Sophie Nichols – West Wilkes

Kendall Stanley – West Wilkes

Mackenzie Cornelius – North Wilkes

Rhi Patterson – Starmount

Kayla Vanhoy – Starmount

Madison German – Wilkes Central

Riley Johnson – Wilkes Central

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.