Junior League champs (WC)

Members of the team in the photo are, front row, left-to-right, Mason Lyon, Reid Kyle, Bat Boy Noah Hall, Zane Rhodes, Avery Aiken, Jake Lunsford and Austin Blackburn. On the back row are, Jared Whittington, Alex Ball, Mason Billings, Assistant Coach Lester Barlow, Head Coach Scotty Blackburn, Lance Bare, Colin Barlow and Assistant Coach Randy Kyle. Blackburn would also like to thank Marie Whitworth and coaches Scott Eller, Charles Mitchell and Calvin Swaim for their contributions to this year’s team.

The Wilkes County Junior League all-stars won the District 2 championship with its win over Watauga (via forfeit) this past weekend.

With the championship, Wilkes County qualifies for the Tar Heel League state tournament starting on July 25 in Smithfield.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.