East Wilkes’ Aaron Simmons was named the Mountain Valley 1A/2A Athletic Conference’s coach of the year on Thursday after guiding the Cardinals to their third-straight league title.

Ashe County’s Elizabeth Wallace was named MVAC tennis player of the year.

Making the all-MVAC tennis team were Tristen Blevins, Kristie Brown, Kaleigh Couch, Brianna Martin, Sylvia Prevette and Jordan Schubart from East Wilkes; Allie Billings and Rebekah Wilson from North Wilkes; Lizzie Church and Paige Phillips from West Wilkes; and Wilkes Central’s Riley Cearly.

Boys track

It was a sweep for league champion West Wilkes in boys track, as Jason Adams was named top coach, Andrew Dyer was field MVP and Austin Triplette was track MVP.

All-conference laurels were earned by Dyer, Triplette, Hunter Wayne, Jakadon Larrimore, Sage Miller, Isaiah Lewczyk, William Gregory, Derik Kinkopf and Dawson Osborne of West Wilkes; Terry Hayes, Carlos Reyes-Martin, Cory Bonner, Ahmad Carlton, Anthony Graham, Isaiah Carlton and C.J. McGill of Wilkes Central; and Keshaun Tillman, Braeden Foster and Calvin Transeau of North Wilkes.

Honorable mention went to Gregory, Kaison Wilkins, Russell Patrick, Kinkopf, Holt Hanchey, Garrett Patrick and Miller of West Wilkes; Graham and McGill of Wilkes Central; and North Wilkes’ Mason Faw, Mitch Adams, Tillman and Foster.

Girls track

Rhiannon Adams was selected as girls track coach of the year, as her Blackhawks finished second behind Ashe County in the MVAC.

North Wilkes’ Brooke Settle won track MVP honors and Ashe’s Emily Hartsoe was field MVP.

All-MVAC from West Wilkes were Gracie Lambert, Ju’Mizhia Sanders, Kennedy Collins, Emma Sutphin, Payton Grose, Libby Harbour, Kyley Brindle, Chloe Barnes, Faith Brown, Hallie Crumpton and Emma Wayne; North Wilkes’ Brooke Settle, Olivia Rhodes, Beth Settle, Shelby Roal and McKenzie Harrold; Wilkes Central’s Jayla Smoker, Abigail Tully, Ryleigh Parker and Olevia Ringwood; and East Wilkes’ Annika Bell and Lily Adams.

Honorable mention status was bestowed upon Kennedy Collins, Sanders, Wayne, Nicole Roberts and Katelyn Collins of West Wilkes; Faith Reeves, Adia McCurdy, Olivia Rush, Parker and Misty McWhorter of Wilkes Central; and Beth Settle of North Wilkes.

Sign Up For Newsletters

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.