A forum for candidates in the races for North Wilkesboro mayor, two North Wilkesboro commissioner seats and two Wilkesboro Town Council seats will be held Thursday evening beneath the open-sided shelter at the Yadkin Valley Marketplace on the Central Business District (CBD) Loop in North Wilkesboro.

Social distancing protocol will be followed in spacing chairs for candidate and audience seating. People at the event will be strongly encouraged to wear masks, which will be made available.

There will be three sessions, one for each of three races. The schedule will be:

• Wilkesboro Town Council session, starting at 5:20 p.m.

• North Wilkesboro mayoral session, starting at 6:20 p.m.

• North Wilkesboro commissioner session, starting at 7:30 p.m.

Forum moderator Dane Mastin will ask the questions, prepared in advance. Candidates for the same seat or seat will be asked the same five questions.

Candidates will have two minutes to answer each question, plus two minutes for an opening statement and two minutes for a closing statement. L.B. Prevette, timekeeper, will let candidates know when their time is about to expire and when it expires.

Candidates for North Wilkesboro mayor are Michael Cooper, William Hamby, Marc R. Hauser, and Robert L. Johnson. Johnson is the incumbent.

Candidates for two North Wilkesboro commissioner seats are Otis W. Church, Angela J. Day and Joseph A. Johnston. Jonathan Swift's name is on the ballot, but he announced that he no longer is a candidate. Day is the only incumbent. Debbie Ferguson’s term is also ending, but she didn’t file for re-election.

Candidates for two Wilkesboro Town Council seats are Nellie Hubbard Archibald, Russell F. Ferree and Lee W. Taylor. Archibald and Ferree are incumbents.

Early, one-stop voting, when registering to vote and voting at the same time and location is allowed, is from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Oct. 14-29 weekdays only and 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 30.

All early, one-stop voting in Wilkesboro and North Wilkesboro races is at the Wilkes Board of Elections office on the third floor of the Wilkes County Office Building in Wilkesboro.

Election Day is Nov. 2, with municipal polling places open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. The deadline is 5 p.m. for returning absentee ballots in person and 7:30 p.m. to return military/overseas ballots electronically.

The deadline to register to vote on Election Day is 5 p.m. Oct. 8 at the Wilkes Board of Elections office in Wilkesboro. Mailed voter registration forms must be postmarked Oct. 8.

Sign Up For Newsletters

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.