Another person filed Thursday as a North Wilkesboro commissioner candidate.

With the filing period ending at noon Friday, Larry Shane Taylor of Cedar Lane became the fifth person to file for a four-year term as a North Wilkesboro commissioner this fall. Taylor is lead instructor in communications at Wilkes Community College.

The other four candidates for two four-year North Wilkesboro commissioner seats on the ballot are Deborah “Debbie” F. Ferguson, Grant B. “Bart” Hayes, Michael P. Parsons and Robert C. Horn. Hayes and Ferguson are incumbents and Parsons and Horn haven’t previously held elected positions.

The two candidates so far for a four-year term as North Wilkesboro mayor are Joseph Adam Higdon, who hasn’t held an elected office, and incumbent Robert L. Johnson.

Candidates at this point for two Wilkesboro councilman seats are Claude A. “Andy” Soots, Russell “Russ” F. Ferree and Nellie H. Archibald. Soots and Ferree are incumbents. Archibald was elected to the council in 2009 and didn’t seek re-election when her term ended.

Incumbents Helen T. Porter, Gene E. Fowler and Rheajean M. Benge are the only people who have filed so far as candidates for three Ronda commissioner seats on the ballot this fall.

Election Day is Nov. 7. All three towns hold non-partisan elections, which means there are no primaries.

For more details, call the Wilkes Board of Elections at 336-651-7338 or go to and click "candidates."

Sign Up For Newsletters

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.